Home > Uncategorized > Boat Shoes…No Socks

Boat Shoes…No Socks

I’m sitting on the most segregated street in Holland, MI.  I’m sitting in the most expensive coffee shop on the street looking out the window at a group of 8 men in their early 60’s.  By the look of them, they have arrived.  They are all wearing clothes with either creases in all the right places or boat shoes with no socks.  Their hair (all of them have a head full of hair) is meticulous.  Every one of them has sunglasses that look more expensive than my car and most of them are sipping lattes.

I have a fairly large number of judgmental thoughts I could share with you right now, but I am thinking better of it.  Thoughts that really get us nowhere.  Instead, I’ll let you know what else I observe: these guys are still just a bunch of guys.  They might as well be in a locker room or at the bowling alley or on the back deck of their house with a grill going.

Besides the polo shirt with “Princeton University” printed on it, these guys are just like me and my friends.  They’re telling stories (probably exaggerated…like mine).  They’re laughing and giving advice that wasn’t asked for.  They have everything they need: not the clothes or the certain yachts or even the ability at 60 years old to spend a Wednesday morning lazily telling fish tales around the table of an outdoor café on 8th Street.

Take all that away and they are just 8 guys who have everything they need: friends, conversation, memories, laughter, a certain propensity toward B.S.  They’re just like me.

Like me, too, they will be forced (obviously earlier than I will) to make a conscious decision about one of the most important things in life: how am I going to end my life.  Not kill myself…I mean how am I going to spend the last half of my life.  They’ve clearly worked hard and can now have leisure.  What will they do with their resources, experiences, time?  Maybe something spectacular.

This is my hope for them…for me.  That and a yacht.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Jods
    July 2, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    obviously all of these men have wives who are still living and helping them look so good…….don’t be too quick to judge a book by its cover. There are A LOT of very generous people in the area and most do not have building named after them. Just sayin…….:-)

    • July 2, 2012 at 3:05 pm

      You are very right! Sorry it came off that way. It is more of a reminder to me that when I reach 60-70 I hope I will use my resources well, too. Thanks, Jod.

  2. January 10, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    Having read this I believed it was extremely enlightening.
    I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending way too much time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

