Home > Uncategorized > Playing Catch-Up Pt. 1

Playing Catch-Up Pt. 1

My last post was on April 1.  Strange for me to be away for so long, but I have some great excuses and in this and the following “Catch-Up” posts you will hear them.  I’ll start with the biggest reason I haven’t posted: my back decided to take a vacation even when I could not.

Funny thing about a back.  No matter how much your brain thinks it’s in charge, it never is.  Actually, the back runs the show and the brain is like 3rd or 4th in line after my stomach and maybe any virus or sniffle I may procure.  I mean it, the back is in charge, man.  If it decides you are going to lay down and take it easy..guess what.

So, our very bestest friends were visiting from hundreds of miles away right in the middle of Lent when my stupid pants pocket caught on some chair rail in our dining room.  My back did a little unauthorized rotation and ta-da…I was done.  Our friends ended up having a pretty good time without me, go figure.

I was down for the count…Here is a list of things I couldnt do: put on/take off socks, get into/out of bed, play with my kids, write a sermon worth the weight of the paper it was printed on, play with my children, go to baseball practice with my son (for which I was supposed to be the assistant coach), read…I know – you would think that laying around all day would give me lots of opportunity, but my mind wasn’t able to focus on a good book.  And lastly…I couldn’t type.  So there you have it.  My excuse for not posting.

Right before my back went out, though, I did manage to snap this photograph of my friends’ dumb dog, Walter, with his head in a bag of cheese balls.  Enjoy.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Deyanne Koster
    June 19, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Just a quick note on the picture – one of my neighbors that walked his dog by every day all of sudden didn’t have the dog during the recent walks – this was just after Gary went home – and I caught him passing by one day so I asked about his “Buddy” His head just dropped and he told me he didn’t want my grief to be increased but one day a few weeks before – he and his wife came home and found Buddy had passed away – so as I pressed he opened up and shared that Buddy had suffocated in the cat food bag – My immediate response I held onto till he was up the block – I went into the house and busted up laughing – this was my first real laughter after going through the grief process with Gary gone and I cried I laughed so hard – I’m so sorry Buddy is gone and my neighbor was grieving but it gave me some hope that I could laugh and that Buddy died enjoying something he liked alot –

    • June 19, 2012 at 2:55 pm

      This is the awesomest sad of the day!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

