Home > Uncategorized > Steven Tyler, Tattoos, and Whores

Steven Tyler, Tattoos, and Whores

Watching Steven Tyler sing the national anthem before the Patriots/Ravens game my daughter said this, “Daddy, she kind of sounds like a guy.”  Yup.  She does.  And without the cultural context of knowing who Steven Tyler is, and without knowing that this person’s name is “Steven” – typically a male name, she only had the information her eyes gave her.  And yet something did not connect for her.  This “Dude looks like a lady” had a voice that sounded to Bis like a guy’s voice.  There was something coming out of “her” that did not seem very “her” like.

Last night we enjoyed dinner at the home some new friends.  She relayed a story about growing up in a very conservative church.  When her boyfriend gave her a nice ankle bracelet a lady at church made this comment, “Ankle bracelets are for whores!”  The lady we were visiting for dinner was the furthest thing from a whore, and I’m sure was nowhere near reaching the level of “whore” when she was young and attending a conservative church on a regular basis.  But the word “whore” stuck in her mind and it took a long time to get it out of her mind…still hasn’t apparently – since she relayed the story to me last night.

I give my daughter a bye for not knowing Steven Tyler is a dude.  But this lady in a church should know better than to judge a person by an ankle bracelet.  And I suppose it is best not to judge people at all unless it is by the actions they make. 

One of the great philosophers of our age, Forrest Gump, gave us a great axiom to live by: Stupid is as stupid does.  Isn’t it possible that the safest person to be around in a dark alley is the tattooed teddy bear of a Harley rider?  Isn’t it possible that Steven Tyler can move someone by his performance despite his hair and flashy attire?  Isn’t it possible that a young girl wearing a simple ankle bracelet from her innocent boyfriend can grow to be a shining role model for young women?  I suppose it’s even possible that God could find God’s way into and work God’s way through the buttoned up manner of the judging church lady.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 24, 2012 at 11:00 am

    Thank you 🙂
    I enjoy reading your posts-simple and well stated.

    • January 24, 2012 at 11:40 am

      Thanks, Annalissa! Glad they connect with you. Simple has always suited me (though it does tend to get one less than an “A” in classes :))

  2. Mitzie
    January 24, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    I havent looked nor counted but I can think of at least three ” whores” God used in the bible to save, and teach Gods choosen people . I recently posted a picture on facebook of skeltons and the saying was’ ” while you were busy judging others, your skeltons fell out of the closet”. It is amazing to me what I learn when I judge others and how God shows me my own faults after I point fingers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

