Home > Uncategorized > I Recognize You…and You!!!

I Recognize You…and You!!!

Church planting…at least the way we do it…is not a lot of fireworks.  We don’t put on a big show, and we don’t have a lot of pizzazz.  Jesus brings that, I don’t feel the need to do His job.  Anyway, I wanted to tell you about a moment of quiet fireworks that the Holy Spirit brought on yesterday.

As a church we’ve become a safe place for folks who have mental illness.  I’m not qualified AT ALL to help those suffering from mental illness, which means a couple of things: 1. I need to educate myself in that area, and 2. God gets all the glory for whatever ministry God’s body  does to those suffering from mental illness.  I’m glad for this.

During a period of sharing in worship yesterday we had a woman reveal that she recently had a breakdown and had to be hospitalized.  She wasn’t the only one in the room with that experience, and now everyone is surrounding her and encouraging her.  One of those people surrounding her is Heather.

Heather seems to be unaffected by all the medications the doctors have tried to help her with.  And now, the only remedy they can come up with is one of last resort.  I don’t know the details, but it involves electricity.  I do know that it’s not like in the movies, so you can toss that image out of your head.  It ends up being kind of a “restart” button for the mind.  Unfortunately, the side effect is memory loss.

Heather texted me twice last week asking when church started…she couldn’t remember.  She was nervous about coming to church because she can’t remember anyone.  She doesn’t recognize faces – even ones she sees 2-3 times a week.  So, she was worried about offending people.  But she came anyway this week, and after worship she approached me with tears in her eyes.  I was worried that she’d had a bad experience with offending someone (though I can’t think of anyone who would be offended).

“I have to tell you something wonderful,” she said.  “I haven’t been able to recognize anyone for the last few weeks, and it was starting to feel really lonely, but when I got to church this morning I recognized every face!”  Tears are streaming down her face by now.  “I couldn’t remember the names that went with the faces, but I wasn’t with strangers, and I knew it.  I knew I had a connection with these people.”

A connection.  We celebrated communion that day, and a connection is exactly what we had: with Christ, and with the body of Christ.

Fireworks like that…that’s what I have to hold on to when the rough days come.  Recognizing Christ in your presence and the body of Christ and what God wants to do in our midst.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Heather Morgan
    November 7, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    Thank you so much for writing such a nice article. This really touched me,

    With all of my love, Heather

  2. Tara
    November 29, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    Bless you Heather! (from an old friend of Jim’s from his college days)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

