Home > Uncategorized > Into Freedom

Into Freedom

This is the summer of the bicycle for my little girl.  Here’s a poem for you about how I feel regarding her new mobility:

Into Freedom

Bluebell eyes gazing up from underneath

A helmet one size too large

Pig tails thrusting out the bottom and laying

Over her shoulders with matching ribbons

Hands on grips

One foot high on pedal

One holding up her 36 pounds

And her tilting big girl bike

“Step down while you push off”

“I’ll hold the seat back here”

Both easier said than done

And we’re on our way

She with intense concentration, determination

I with hunched back and sideways running

She with feet slipping on and off

My hand doing the same

Her brother rides past using only one hand

Her mother on the porch with hands to mouth

Mine come to my lower back

As I stand and observe

Wind pushing pig tails behind shoulders

Wheels finding direction first here then there

Legs pumping, propelling

My daughter into freedom

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

