Home > Uncategorized > Name My New Blog Competition Nearing Finale

Name My New Blog Competition Nearing Finale

Well, we’re getting down to the end of the name my new blog competition.

I believe we have two finalists and I would like your input into my final choice.

In no specific order the two I hope to choose from are:

1. Consistent Adequacy

The reason for this is that I believe that God has called me to do the job that I can do, and that God will do the rest.  I don’t have to be spectacular, just me, and just adequate on a consistent basis.  This name leaves it up to the Spirit to do the heavy lifting.

2. Ushering the Kingdom

The reason for this is that I believe that our task as followers of Christ (not necessarily in church planting) is to be ushers of the Kingdom of God as it breaks in and as we enter it and help it change our world.  We hold the playbills and then we step on stage.  We are ambassadors who point the way and then get out of the way.  We keep the path clear to the cross.

List your vote either here or on facebook.  Thanks for your participation.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. helen
    May 24, 2011 at 9:34 am

    Hi Jim –

    I vote for #1 with a twist – Beyond Adequate Consistency

    Thanks for sharing, I enjoy reading your blog.

  2. Sara Van Doornik
    May 24, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    Dear Jim….I loved the “old” name…Embodying…great! I do like Helen’s twist on the choices you’ve given us–Beyond Consistent Adequacy or Beyond Adequate Consistency…because God always goes beyond what I can imagine, and because I hope that I am consistently adequate in my service. Ushering the Kingdom…it’s good, but just not as clever as I have come to expect from your wittiness and droll humor. I do enjoy the blogs!

    • May 24, 2011 at 4:05 pm

      Thanks, Sara. I like the old name, too. In fact it will remain. The new blog is going to be separate from this one. The RCA blog is specifically about planting churches and won’t contain interesting anecdotes and stories about my observations of the world. So, I will be running two blogs. They won’t be updated as often as this one, however. Probably each will get attended to once or twice a week. Thanks for your input. Don’t think I didn’t consider “Something For EveryEmbody” which is all your idea!

  3. Janet Koolhaas
    May 24, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    Hi Jim, you asked for input and here’s mine. Both of the contenders leave me cold. Sorry. I’ll tell you why.

    The word “adequacy”, on the spectrum of negative to positive comes across to me as somewhere just about the middle, barely making it into the positive side. That’s my first-glance, gut-feeling response. In your explanation you seem to make the word about YOU, but most readers will not know this and will apply it God, Who is so much more than just “adequate”. And you won’t have the luxury of explaining and re-explaining the meaning as you gain new readers.

    Ushering the Kingdom caused me to stop and ponder the grammatical correctness of the phrase. It feels like it should be Ushering in the Kingdom. Perhaps your phrase is grammtically correct, but how many people, like me will be distracted by THAT issue and miss the greater meaning that you intend?

    Some Dutch immigrants in our previous congregation took over leadership of the youth group and gave it a new name: W.A.C. (Walking Along Christ). I never had the heart to say anything about it to them and then we moved away. But Ushering the Kingdom gives me the same gut reaction as Walking Along Christ.

    Finally, I agree with the previous comment by Sara that neither of these titles “embodies” =) your usual “wit and droll humor”. Is there a third choice?
    As always, I love your writing, Jim! I eagerly devour your Blogs. I just figure you’ve got one shot at getting this right. OK, that’s my 2 cents worth.
    Love & prayers, Jan

  4. Kathy Kingsley
    May 24, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    Hi Jim, I vote for Ushering the Kingdom. I love what you said: We are ambassadors who point the way and then get out of the way. I am also enjoying the blogs 🙂

  5. kelly wierenga
    May 25, 2011 at 4:52 am

    Hmmm….reading some of the above comments makes me come up with another option which is kinda cliche but “Walk the talk” or some variation of that comes to mind. Like Kathy, I tend to go towards the Ushering the Kingdom but not sure exactly how that sounds. I know personally I have felt the calling in my life (with the help of being part of Embody) to “walk the talk”, not only talking about things that Christ commands us to do and models to us in his Word, but “walking it”, living it out. I have been blessed beyond words in the past year as I have through the power of the Holy Spirit been “walking the talk” I have seen God work in so many ways both in my life and in others! Wow, I could keep writing, but is is 4 in the morning and maybe I should go back to bed:)

    • kelly wierenga
      May 26, 2011 at 9:57 pm

      Wow, I barely remember writing this at 4am the other day, pretty intellectual for that early in the am…..

    • May 26, 2011 at 10:15 pm

      Kelly, thanks for your comment. It’s super encouraging to me. I, too, have grown more and more into “walking the talk”. I’m with you. I looked at using “walking terminology in the new name, but haven’t found a way to do it that feels right. I hope you’ll like the new one I’ve chosen. P.S. You and your family have been such a blessing!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

