Home > The Slow Grow > You Name It

You Name It

Here’s something interesting: starting this summer I’ll be keeping a web log (otherwise known by the general public as a “blog”) for the Reformed Church in America.  That’s the denomination I’m a part of.

So, this web log here (the one you’re reading) will still be pretty much the same, but the other one will be focused on church planting.  So there won’t be any stories about my kids or strange observations.  It’ll be business-y.  I asked if I can still be cynical and a little rude.  They said that would be fine.  So I said I was “in.”

Here’s the thing: I am not good at naming things.  If it were up to me, Alex would be named Efton – no lie.  I want your ideas.  What should I name this new blog?

When we named Embody it took forever and we spent tons of energy on it.  Let’s face it, folks, I am on the lazier side of things when I get an option to be so.  Therefore I introduce this blog’s first competition.

I don’t have a name for the competition (if you have one, let me know).  But the competition is this: name my new blog.  The winner will receive the prestige of being the person who named my new blog that will be read by literally 10’s of people.

So, submit your blog name idea either here in the comments or on facebook.  The competition ends when I need to come up with a name.  I’ll let you know what we come up with.

  1. Paul Janssen
    May 12, 2011 at 11:29 am

    I think you should name it “The Blog of the Fastest Growing Denomination in the United States of America, Or at Least We Will Be if We Can Just Keep the Gays and Lesbians Quiet, and Not Speak Too Loudly About Any Social Issues, and Make Sure That Everybody Pays Their Assessments, Oh and By the Way If We Don’t Organize New Churches So Fast That They Will Have To Pay Assessments, and Where You Wouldn’t Know You Were in the Same Denomination if You Went to a Reformed Church in Upstate New York or in New Jersey or in Ohio or in Michigan or Iowa or California or All the Places In-Between.” That do the trick for ya?

    • May 12, 2011 at 3:45 pm

      Wow. Ummm… we would probably have to go with an acronym for that one.

  2. Dave
    May 12, 2011 at 11:30 am

    How about ‘The Scribbling Scribe’

    or ‘Scribbles from the Scribe’

    or ‘Unleaded Thoughts’ (because your words aren’t written with a pencil)

    or “The Bloke’s Blog”

    or “No Calorie Thoughts”

    I’ll stop now. Have fun brainstorming a name for your blog.

  3. Lee
    May 12, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    “RCA Ninja-Talk” of course 🙂

    • May 12, 2011 at 5:04 pm

      We could make the font and the background the same color.

  4. May 13, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Thanks, folks. Keep ’em coming. Some of these were good. Some just fun. I received some on FB that were good as well, and one (the front-runner) via text message. I don’t have to make a decision for a little while, so just keep sendin’ them my way.

  5. Paul Janssen
    May 16, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    Evangelical. Ecumenical. Emergent. TrinitEEE.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

