Back Again

 

Like Bunnies

At the foot of my driveway is a fir tree, big, round, and tall with branches that sweep the ground.  Now that it’s getting warmer, the kiddos will be riding bikes.  So, I decided to trim up the bottom 4-5 feet of branches to give better visibility.

My neighbor told me that the mystery flowers next to the tree are irises, and that the increased sunlight will be good for them.  You know what else the sunlight will be good for?  The other thing growing there: garlic mustard. 

When the settlers came to West Michigan they brought with them garlic mustard.  It is one of the first things up in the spring and makes a great pesto, so I’m told.  It’s a leafy green that smells a little like garlic and not a bit like mustard.  It doesn’t belong in this environment.  In fact it’s detrimental to the environment.  Garlic mustard sends chemicals from its roots that kill other plants in its vacinity.  Oh, and it loves to spread.  It’s like the bunny rabbit of weeds.

Every year I pull them, and every year they come back.  They are super easy to pull – getting all the roots isn’t even very difficult.  So I’m baffled.  Why, when I pull everything up before they seed (and am sure to get all the roots), do they keep coming back?  Why are they so easy to pull and so hard to get rid of?  Why do they spread so easily?  Why can’t I defeat these invasive little beasts?  Why is sin the same way?

  1. S
    June 8, 2011 at 12:58 am

    I’ve stumbled on your blog because of doing a search on Robin Ringland. I saw her last Saturday at Andrew Pinkham’s Memorial and was surprised to learn she was a Reverand.
    I’m very intriged by your writings and have to say that you wrote what I thought about Osama’s demise. I’m so glad you put it into words for me. Can I share this on Facebook?

    • June 8, 2011 at 7:45 am

      Hi, Sharon,
      I’m glad you stumbled on my blog. Robin was an instrumental person in my education – not only in science – but in understanding how a Christ-follower can be an ambassador in whatever situation they find themselves. Of course you may share this link to anyone who may be encouraged by it. Thanks for your words of encouragement about Osama. I am finding myself relieved to hear that I am not the only one who felt that way. Grace and Peace to you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

