Home > Friday Mornings > Two Hobbies (Part 1)

Two Hobbies (Part 1)

I have two hobbies that I think I will tell you about.  One is the kind of goody-two-shoes hobbie that everyone expects from a pastor.  The other is just the opposite.  It’s the kind of thing I shouldn’t tell you about.  But I will.

First is smiling at people.  Now, that sounds super lame, but there’s a trick to it.  If you just walk around smiling at people they will hate you.  For instance, I walked into the post office on Tuesday to mail my mom’s Mother’s Day/Birthday present (yes, I did double duty on the gift…if you have a problem with that try having a birthday on December 23 and then complain to me) and tried doing it the wrong way.  I just walked through the whole place with a big ol’ grin on my face.  First, it probably looks a little creepy – someone smiling for no apparent reason, especially at a post office.  I got looks from people.  They were the looks that said, “Hey, pal, what do you have to smile about?  You think your life is so great?  Better than mine?  Probably, but now I hate you.”

So, that’s the wrong way to do it.  The right way can actually be pretty great.  (Warning: if you try to do the following without meaning it, you can be perceived to be a pervert or suicide bomber.)  You have to, in your mind and heart wish the best for someone, then make eye contact and a split second after making eye contact you have to generate a very real smile.  The smile has to say, “I see you, and I think that if we were to take the time to talk to one another we would like each other.”  I would say that 92.5 percent of the time that I properly execute that kind of smile I get one in return, and I’m willing to bet that it surprises A LOT of people that they smile or that a stranger gave them that smile.  Try it, but you have to mean it or you’ll come off really creepy.

Ok, the other hobby.  I’ll put that in the next post.  I promise.  But, I’m telling you that if you have some semblance of a good picture in your mind about me it will be shattered when you find out what I like to do (It’s nothing creepy).  So, if you want to keep thinking I’m a stand-up guy, don’t read Part 2.

  1. Justin Meyers
    May 5, 2011 at 10:12 am

    If you do this in NYC you might get pushed on the tracks….Kinda blends with Hobby #2 huh?

    • May 5, 2011 at 10:15 am

      Justin, you would think so, but if “IF” applied correctly after much practice and the right timing this can work, too. I have tested it in many cultures and cities large and small. People are people no matter how jaded or wary of others they are. I’ve pulled this off successfully in NYC: The Bronx, Queens, and Manhattan. I will say, however, that the percentages vary in situations like that. Now, having said that, I don’t think you could do it while wearing a Red Sox hat. Granted…this is a very risky venture in some cultures – there’s a lot against you in some situations. It’s not for the faint of heart.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

