Home > Ranting > Hutchmoot Frustration

Hutchmoot Frustration

Last year I really wanted to go to Hutchmoot.  It’s a gathering of artists (musicians, writers, visual artists, etc.) who are also thoughtful Christians.  They are the type of artists I dig on and who encourage me in my little corner of the world.  But, Hutchmoot sold out before I could get in.  I was determined to get in this year (they only take 100 people).  I found out that it sold out in under 6 HOURS!!!

So…I’m a bit frustrated because I was really looking forward to using Hutchmoot 2011 as my professional development.  I’ve been saving my prof. dev’t money in preparation, but now I’m at a loss.

See, there are tons of opportunities for pastors to gather and grow and learn and professionally develop, but…  Well…  I’m kind of picky and want to use my time not necessarily to take a class or listen to 20 steps to making your church become a megachurch or how to start a small group this or how to successfully do this or that.  I’d rather do something that fills my soul, empowers me and propells me in a similar-yet-nuanced trajectory.

So…if you’re interested in helping me out.  I’m up for suggestions.  Please don’t send me any ideas that start with “3,000 people will gather” or “Vendors will be present between sessions at…” or “Famous person so-and-so will share their helpful tips”.  If you do I will send you this reply: “Thanks so much for your suggestion of how I can spend my professional development time.  I will most likely attend said opportunity directly after I finish sticking bamboo shoots under my fingernails.”

Sorry for that…it’s a mixture of frustration about Hutchmoot and a cynicism around those types of big gatherings.  If you’re offended by me slamming your kind of gig, I’m sorry.  I can see the validity and importance of those things.  They’re just not for me right now.  Are we good?  Thanks.

But, if you have a good idea or you’ve done something that filled you up in a healthy way, let me know and I’d love to check it out to see if it’s for me, too.  Really…don’t be afraid to send me ideas.  I won’t be mean.

  1. April 7, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    Okay, so now I feel guilty, I mean, really guilty. I DID get in to Hutchmoot and I’m just a mom and wannabe writer. You sound like someone who deserves it so much more than I do. I’m terrified of going. This is way out of my league, but it’s been a dream since reading about last year’s Hutchmoot.
    If I hadn’t gotten in, my next thought was to find out from AP about the monastery where he went to be alone with God and where he wrote “Silence of God.” Talk about professional development! You’d be spending time with the Master.

  2. April 7, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    Sally, Don’t feel guilty. Well…yah…no, don’t feel guilty. I’m glad you got in. By the looks of your blog I can see that you deserve it more than anyone else. I hope that it’s refreshing and nourishing for you. I’ll take your idea under advisement. Wish they would open it up to more people…’course, that would kill the mood. If you hear about any other “Hutchmootish” gatherings let me know. Would you do me a favor? When you get back, would you let me know one cool thing you gathered? Thanks.

  3. March 2, 2012 at 10:21 am

    So so so happy you got into Hutchmoot 2012!

  4. March 7, 2012 at 11:02 am

    Thanks, Sally. Are you going? I’m geeked.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

