Home > The Slow Grow > Submission

Submission

Sunday was our first big church meeting.  We discussed realities on the ground: finances, the common bubble faced at 75 people, lives being changed, etc.  After this, we gave people a chance to gather in groups and discuss some questions and talk about where our church is and where it might go regarding space issues.  I didn’t join in a group so that they could talk without my…whatever…presence or influence or…I don’t know.  I thought they would talk more freely without me in the circles.  We got their responses and then we prayed as a church.

Tuesday night the leadership team met to go over what we heard on Sunday.  They know where I’m at and how I’m feeling, so I listened again.  My silent prayer was: God, speak through your people and your Spirit to give us guidance and wisdom.  They all agreed that the time to move is not yet upon us.  This was not what I was expecting.  In fact, this is not what I was hoping for.  If I’m honest, I thought we should get to moving because it would bring all kinds of added benefits besides space and less to pay in rent.

But they disagreed.  There was concensus around the room and I took that as my answer.  So here’s where we left it: we will stay where we are and make a new, concerted effort to grow.  The area we live in has 35% of the people not connected to a church, and so…we’ve got a lot of work cut out for us.  We want all those people to get the opportunity to engage God and the Son, Jesus Christ.

I think I’m learning a valuable lesson (after failing it miserably in the past): submission.  Perhaps we made the best move in our decision last night.  Perhaps not.  But since the leaning of the church, and the concensus of the leadership team feel that way, I would be a fool to push my differing opinion.  I submit to what the church is saying.  In fact, though this may be difficult to comprehend (it certainly is to me), there is a distinct possibility that I could be wrong.  Shocking, I know.

Sometimes, I think leadership means not getting too far out in front of the people you’re trying to lead.  And moving right now would apparently be just that.

One great thing that came out of our time as a church and a leadership team is some ownership.  I believe that many people, perhaps for the first time, had this thought: hey, if this church is going to make it, it’s up to me.

I’ve been praying for that.

  1. Audrey
    January 19, 2011 at 11:34 pm

    Very well said Jim. And a good reminder to me that what I pray for each night, may not be what God has in store for me. Also reminds me of the lyrics to one of my favoite country songs…

    Some time I thank God, for un-answered prayers
    Just because he didn’t answer, doesn’t mean he doesn’t care
    Just remember when your talking to the man up stairs…
    Some of Gods greatest gift are un-answered prayers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

