Home > The Slow Grow > None Of My Business

None Of My Business

I make my office in about 5 places: Way Cup Cafe, Western Theological Seminary’s library, Panera Bread, Barnes and Noble, and home.  I’ve always been that way, can’t quite settle into one place for too long.  I can study and sit still for about 2 hours at a time then I get distracted.  That’s not too bad.  It gives me a chance to observe a variety of places and people.  I get to have a lot of conversations with a lot of people, and I have all the resources I could need in those varied places.

As I was entering Panera Bread the other morning I noticed two other guys coming toward the door at about the same time.  Now, I have this selfish side to me.  I know, this comes as a surprise to you, but it’s true.  Through my head went this thought, “Can I make it to the door in the appropriate amount of time where it won’t obligate me to open the door for them?  Because if I have to open the door for them, then they’re getting in line before me, and I’m kind of hungry.”  Sorry, if you thought I was a saint…I’m not.

Fortunately, one of the guys took a strange interest in the worn paint of the outside lighting fixture.  I know, didn’t see that coming, did you?  Neither did I.  I made it to the door, and felt a little bad, but…enjoyed my pastry nonetheless.  The two guys were dressed in dress slacks, shirts and ties.  Their laptops in carry bags and their shirt sleeves rolled up.  Normal business guys meeting for a coffee and to finalize plans for their takeover of the world.

As I sat reading the Bible (see, back to saint, huh?), I noticed one of the guys take an inordinate interest in the interior decoration of the place.  He got up really close to the wall and inspected the chair rail – that was obviously coming off and discolored.  He was hard at work at something, so…I interrupted him.

“Excuse, me…I couldn’t help but notice you were checking out the lighting outside and now this woodworking.  Do you have an invested interest in this place?”  I realize now, writing this to you, that I am so nosey, and that it’s none of my business.  I was just curious because I wondered if this was some undercover boss type of thing.

Turns out the guy was the VP of something snooty for the Panera mother company and checking out the place.  He hadn’t been there in 3 years and was seeing how the investment was going.  We had a nice chat about my experience in his restaruant and if I had any comments about it.  I gave a glowing report.  He was happy.  Later, as I was leaving, he looked up from his computer and we gave our polite goodbyes.  Nice guy.

When the vineyard owner comes to check out how we’ve done growing fruit, how will he find us?  How will he find me?  How intentional am I about the chair rails and paint on the lighting fixture of my heart and of my light to the world?  Let’s not pretend that he’s not involved each and every day with each breath we take – helping us to produce his desired fruit.  See him there, invested.  Work for him and live intentionally for the purpose to which he’s called you.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

