Home > The Slow Grow, Yellow w/ White Trim > Good Morning, Guess What.

Good Morning, Guess What.

I’m feeling a little stress over not yet having a regular musician/worship leader for Sunday mornings.  Lee is done now, and, while we had a terrific anniversary and send off for Lee…it’s time for God to show up and drop someone awesome in my lap.  I feel very confident that it will happen, but it hasn’t yet, and we are piecing together our very able musicians and guest helpers for the next few weeks.

But I’m feeling a little stress over the whole thing.  So what I guess I needed was a reality check because God dropped onto me something funny that I wasn’t ready for.  This morning my bride, Dana, informed me that my son had peed in a cup.  There you have it.  Didn’t see that coming, did you?  Me neither.  We keep a cup in the kids’ bathroom for rinsing your mouth or having the inevitable, bed time-delaying sip of water.

Alex decided to pee in it.  When asked about it, he said, “I rinsed it out after.”  Yuck.

Now, I can see it from his perspective: I’m 7, I have to pee, I have a choice between toilet, bathtub or…hey, is that a cup? 

A little stress release was helpful.  We’ll see what God has in store for our church.  Could be something completely unexpected.  Like pee in a cup – except more…I don’t know…holy and appropriate to talk about – the kind of thing you’re excited about.

  1. September 23, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    This is fantastic. A cup…a drinking cup. Oh my. Not sure if I’d want to know if he’s ever done that before. 😉

    Keep your chin up. I’m a terrible singer, and I am reminded often by God that scripture TELLS US to sing a new song to the Lord…to sing hymns and thanks. It doesn’t say sing if you are good, talented, or experienced…just sing. 🙂

    I always thought there would be absolutely nothing wrong with popping in a cd and singing along. -C

  2. September 24, 2010 at 10:49 am

    Heydeehideehothere! Hope you got my voicemail. Also, speaking of advertising…how about something at Western Sem or Hope College Music department about the OPENING at Embody. Sometimes, I think, God drops people in our laps, but sometimes he stretches us to go to new venues to find the dropee. Note: I got the word pee in this for you 🙂 One can not discuss that topic enough when small children are in your midst 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

