Home > The Slow Grow > Donutville

Donutville

Mmmmmmm

This morning I went to Donutville.  I go there every week at 6:30am to meet with a couple leaders at Embody to talk about church and to pray.  I usually get there a little early, so I sat listening to NPR and waited.  At 6:30 there are a lot of people running in and out for a few donuts or a few boxes of donuts…for work, probably.  It’s commonly enjoyable to watch people getting donuts.  I like to make up stories for them: this one is getting donuts for the office, this one is getting three donuts for himself and sitting in his car to eat them in peace where his wife won’t notice, this one is not sure what he’s doing and so he buys way too many and has to open the trunk of his car to put in 7 boxes…so on and so forth.

But this morning the story was easy.  I sat listening to the radio and watched a 50-ish year old man get out of the car, literally run to the door of Donutville and go in.  Then, not 10 seconds later, run back to the car empty-handed.  Then, a little out of breath, he ran back into the bakery.  20 seconds later he emerged again, but with nothing in his hand.  He ran to the car then walked back into the store and came out a minute later with a small bag…not big enough to hold 2 cookies.

“Focus,” I wanted to say.  “Mr., you need to focus on one thing.  You’re all over the place and can’t keep your head in the game.”  That would have been ruder than I am used to being, so I remained silent.  It seemed plausible, though.  He probably did what I do sometimes: I go into a room and then have to think, “why did I come in here?”.  Then I go back into the other room and walk around wondering what could have prompted me to go in the first place.  I need to focus, too.  I need to be intentional about what I’m doing.

There’s a super-old story about an ancient rabbi who was walking a path so early in the morning that the sun had not yet risen.  As he passed a Roman sentry point the sentry called out, “Who are you and what are you doing?”  The rabbi paused and responded, “I will pay you twice your wages to stand outside my door and ask me that every day.”

The point: Let’s focus on what it is we are to be about.  Let’s not run around like Mr. Forget-The-Donut-Money.  Let’s be intentional about how we spend our time and energy, our alloted breath upon the earth.

Categories: The Slow Grow Tags: ,
  1. Tina Amaya
    September 1, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    Pastor Jim – The man didn’t realize that DonutVille (which has the BEST donuts) doesn’t take debit cards so he was only able to scrounge up enough change from his car to buy one donut….. and it was well worth the extra running and time! 🙂 Tina

    • September 4, 2010 at 11:50 pm

      This makes the best sense. I like your imagination.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

