Home > Friday Mornings, The Slow Grow, Yellow w/ White Trim > Ancient Secrets in the Sioux Falls Mall

Ancient Secrets in the Sioux Falls Mall

I don’t know here name, and I don’t understand her language, but she saved my life.  Figuratively, of course.  Dana gave me some time away from kids yesterday after traveling 4 days alone with them.

My tension headache drove me to do something I hardly ever do: go to the mall.  I walked in, asked some kiosk worker where I could get a massage and walked directly to Ying’s Massage.  I only wanted to check the prices.  My Grandmother had given me some “emergency” cash, and I thought this was the perfect emergency. 

I didn’t get to ask any questions, and probably because she wouldn’t have been able to answer me, she took me by the hand and led me to the massage table and took off my shoes and started in on my headache.

I don’t know how she knew I had a headache.  Maybe I was walking funny or it’s the usual thing that brings people in or maybe she saw a short, nearly middle-aged, bald, overweight guy alone in the mall and figured there is only one thing that brings a guy like that to the mall: a headache.  She said the word “free” so I went for it.  I knew it was just a ploy, but I took it because I knew I needed it.

After 2-3 minutes of my headache draining down that little breathing hole they put your nose and mouth into, she asked me if I wanted a half hour for $40 or an hour for $65.  I said 20 minutes – she took it and she was off.  Working on mytense muscles and helping me relax.  It helped, too that she was talking the whole time with her co-workers (all in Cantonese or Mandarin or something I don’t understand.)

It worked.  I went from there to Orange Julius then on to find some fancy socks.

It reminds me of the kind of church I want Embody to be: the place where someone enters the doors just looking at the prices, but then meets people who lead them by the hand and offer them the grace they’ve been searching for.  They can leave all their sins at the food of the cross and walk away with new socks and a clean soul. 

The only difference is that when my kids greeted me upon my return…guess what else returned?  Oh, Ying…keep working at it.

  1. Brett VB
    August 14, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    I could learn a couple of mandarin phrases to employ at Embody this next school year – that might make it a little more like the Ying’s Massage. Oh yea, and we should get one of those tables with the nose holes in it…See ya soon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

