Home > Yellow w/ White Trim > This Short Stent of Time

This Short Stent of Time

“Well, there’s a lady coming who will blow you out of the water.  She has had 17, and she’s more active than any of us.  In fact, she’s almost 90.”

This was the game ender.  This was the culmination of competition between people who have had stents put in.  The conversation was a one-upmanship around a table of people in their 60’s at a rehearsal dinner.  I only knew one of the people at the table, and he was out of the game at 4 stents.

Of course, then, the conversation turned to how much each of them follow their Dr.’s orders about what to eat.

“I eat how much of whatever I want whenever I want.  As long as I’m taking my (insert list of about 8 medications here) I can do as I please – at least that’s what I figure.”

Now, I’m 34 and a little overweight.  I tend to eat as I please, too, but the Dr. hasn’t given me a diet to follow.  I’m looking around the table at 4 people who are teetering on the edge of their next heart attack, and here’s the realization I’m coming to:

This is me.  When my daughter gets married…this is me, sitting around a table talking about stents (or whatever is the latest thing that medicine has come up with to keep me alive a little longer.)  And I saw my family tree flash before my eyes.

I didn’t go back to the buffet line for seconds.

  1. dirk
    August 7, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Racquetball when you get back. Maybe we should start running as well.

  2. August 8, 2010 at 10:45 am

    I think we should look into Lipo. I know it’s spendy, but we’re pretty resourceful guys, Dirk. I think with your tools and my above average awareness of adipose tissue, we could look pretty svelt.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

