Organ Donors

Tuesday I heard number 8.  Yup.  #8.  I heard my eighth offer of an organ for Embody.  The offers always come from the same type of person.  They are always a few things: always someone who prays for us; always someone who loves the Good News about Jesus and wants it spread; always someone who cares about others more than themselves; and always someone who would never want to worship with us for an extended period of time.

I know they are praying for me because they’re thinking about Embody and what we might have need of.  I know they love the Good News because they talk about it…and people don’t just talk about the Good News unless they love it.  I know they care about others because they have shown this to me through the years; and I know they would never want to worship with us on a regular basis because they are offering me organs.

The way they love to connect with Christ is different.  Not better or worse; just different.  I love these people more than they’ll know.  They encourage me in a grand way – the way that lets me know that the good news about and of Jesus Christ spans beyond cultures and ages – the way that lets me know that I’m not alone in this great work of bringing good news to people.

These are the people who would gladly give their kidney or part of their spleen to see the Kingdom of God ushered in.  And while I turn down their musical organ, I know that they’ve shared their hearts with me.

  1. June 4, 2010 at 7:35 am

    Jim!

    This is hilarious. And wonderful. When I asked Brett to guess the number of times this had happened, he said, “Please let it be no more than two…” and began instantly trying to imagine what it might be like to accompany an organ with the Djembe. Let’s just say he’s glad you’ve responded to these offers the way you do.

    Grace & Peace.

  2. Andrea DeWard
    June 11, 2010 at 8:59 am

    This was written in such a gracious way – love it. I’m really enjoying reading your blogs this morning. You’re a gifted writer. (Which no doubt makes for a gifted preacher!) Blessings on your ministry!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

