Home > Yellow w/ White Trim > What the Brick Saw

What the Brick Saw

I baptized both of my children.  I understand it to be a time when God says, “This one is mine.”  It’s a sign and seal of God’s faithfulness to me and to my children.  I also see it as a time when I make promises to point my children toward Jesus.  It’s like a time when God lends them to me…to be raised as God would want them raised.  Then, when they head out of the house at 18 or whenever, I hand them back over to God.

We were working in the garden a week or so ago and Dana and I were raking, weeding, pruning…all the things we are learning at this new garden-covered home.  The kids were on the patio riding bikes and playing with the dog.  Alex came up to me and said, “I found a rock that will write on the brick.”  Yah, I know.  I was afraid, too.  But then he told me what he wrote: “I believe in Christ”.  Moments of fresh wind and comfort that indeed God does have them.

Categories: Yellow w/ White Trim Tags: , ,
  1. Michele Boogaart
    May 10, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    Oh. So. Beautiful.

  2. May 11, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    Beautiful, indeed. And…as you reminded me…way better than his first bit of graffiti (writing “poop” on his sister’s leg in marker).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

