Home > Uncategorized > Strategy

Strategy

Seems like there’s this balance to be held when using strategy to invite people to church.  You want people to join you, but you don’t want to be all commercial.  So…it’s tricky.  I want to be authentic, but authentic involves me wanting people to come join us for worship and get involved in the community of believers.

I think the best way to go about this is through normal life.  So, I try to make my normal life work for me.  I bought a dog.  I’ll write more about him elsewhere.  But Jack is a great strategy for inviting people.  In my neighborhood there are 82 million dogs and they all get walked, and most of them walk right by my house.  So…I walk my dog.  People love to talk about their dogs and to know about Jack.  It’s a great conversation starter.

“Oh, that’s a beautiful dog.  What kind is it?…really, I’ve never heard of that kind before.  Where did you get it?…we rescued, too….this is Jack…Cavalier King Charles Spaniel…thanks…I live on the corner of Heather Dr. and Blackbass – the yellow place, you?…I’ve been by there, nice area, how long have you lived there?…us, we moved in about 8 months ago…Oh, I’m a pastor.  We’re starting a new church………..and there’s your invite.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Kendall
    April 26, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Great stuff. You make it sound so easy.
    Take care and keep up the great work.
    -Kendall

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

