Home > Catching Up...back history > Embody Building

Embody Building

Lamar Building

Lamar Building

Finding a place to worship was a challenge.  Because we are committed to a specific geographic area we were limited in places to worship.  Our location is a somewhat rural area.  Lots of homes, not many businesses or buildings.  There was one place that had the right feel and the right location.  It was a construction  business that had moved out of town.  It had been for sale and empty for 2 years. 

The story: every so often God speaks very clearly to His people.  I felt that regarding this location.  God said, “Have Mark Schrotenboer take the lead on this building.”  This felt a little odd.  I was the planter.  Mark had a job and not as much time to be looking into a building.  But, I’m learning about obeying when I hear things like this.  I didn’t tell Mark what I had heard, but asked him to look into it.

Mark came back with a number from talking to the owner.  The number was far more than we could afford.  So, we prayed about it some more.  I was thinking about going back to the owner and seeing if I could talk him down a bit when God reminded me that it was not a job for me to do, but Mark.  So, I asked Mark to go back.

Mark reports this: When I went back to the owner and told him what we could afford he said, “Well, I know your family, and I know you’re from around here, so…I’ll do it”.

So glad I listened.  If I would have disobeyed, it wouldn’t have worked out for us.  This solidifies for me that this is the location that God has for us at this time.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

