Home > Catching Up...back history > Arriving in Holland

Arriving in Holland

First Church hadn’t planted a church in a looong time, so they didn’t know what they were doing.  I had never planted a church, so I didn’t know what I was doing, either.  We went to a little training and started praying.  The best part about planting a church is that if ANYTHING is going to happen, God has to show up.  There is no way any person can receive glory for any good thing happening.

That being said, there are some things you do intentionally because they’re smart.  For instance, we moved into a very small rental home, but not just anywhere…we wanted to be in the “target area”.  In enrolled my son in school right down the street.  I helped at the local PTO.  I began doing much of my work at a local coffee shop and made friends with people who came there.  My son’s classmate was just down the street, I got to know their family, and some of my other neighbors.  As I write this, there are three families on my street who are regular attenders.  Living next to people I worship with…one of my favorite things.

People are all made differently.  I’m made to talk to people I don’t know.  This is a pretty crucial thing for a church planter.  Maybe.  Maybe it’s just crucial for me.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

